Skip to content

2022 Guest Reviews Check out our cottage by the beach

self catering accommodation Booking.com award
See our cottage by the beach Online Travel Agent (OTA) reviews here

Check out the following extracts from our in-house cottage by the beach ‘Guests’ book and online ‘Comments’ form

Candace & Dan

December [3rd -] 6th 2022

Thank you for a lovely stay in your beautiful, cosy cottage – just what we needed! x

Lorraine

[November 28th -] December 2nd 2022

Thank you sharing your beautiful home. Had a lovely stay!! Cosy and warm with the fire a blazing [heart symbol]

The Laxtons

November 19th – 21st 2022

Thank you for a wonderful weekend in your gorgeous Cottage. Very well equipped and lovely views of the sea, plus some unexpected sunshine, made our stay perfect – Buddy the Cockapoo loved it to! [paw mark]. Our two boys enjoyed the D Day museum down the road and Quiddles on the beach does amazing breakfasts. Well definitely be back.

Anonymous

November [11th] – 13th 2022

A loveley weekend in a lovely cosy cottage. Everything we needed. Thank You!

Phil & Ruth – [from] Shropshire

November 6th – 11th 2022

Great location & all the comforts of home!! Try the Crab House – Fantastic food and $$.

Steve & Val, Nottingham

October 29th – November 1st 2022

Many thanks for an enjoyable stay at your lovely cottage. A nice fish chowder at Quiddles, but no whitebait or prawns.

Anonymous

October 27th – 29th 2022

A lovely stay at Sea View. Thanks!

Eleanor & Sue Robinson

October 23rd – 27th 2022

We had a loveley time staying is Sea View Cottage & exploring the local area. Can recommend Cove House Inn – great food, but advisable to book!

Maja, London

October 16th – 21st 2022

[via Google Forms]

Half term holiday with kids.. we enjoyed staying in this beautiful cottage that is like a home away from home.. this place has everything you need and more.. my kids loved staying here and we can’t wait to come back.. it’s so close to all amazing places Portland can offer.. I would highly recommend to stay in the place as not only is a perfect location but also has a great host who welcomed us with some local coffee, tea, milk and jam 🙂 

Dan & Sarah, Wellington

October 7th – 9th 2022

An amazing homely cottage, very comfortable. Excellent bird watching at the Fleet and Marina.  Recommend the Jailhouse Cafe & The Kitchen (at the Marina)

Steve & Ann

September 27th – 30th 2022

Fantastic cottage & superb location to explore Portland. Comfortable, warm & well equipped cottage. We had a great time and hope to return. 🙂

Loti, Juli & Zsofi

September 25th – 27th 2022

We had such a wonderful time for our yearly ‘girl’s trip’ in your charming cottage. It was everything we hoped for and more! Thank you, Graham and Lizzie! 🙂

Anonymous

September 21st – 23rd 2022

Location, location, location. Ticks all the boxes 🙂

Anonymous

September 18th – 20th 2022

Very lovely cottage, spacious and well equipped, Fab views and ideal spot to visit Portland 🙂

Anonymous

September [5th] – 9th 2022

Very relaxing break in a lovely quirky cottage. Beautiful views and my 90 yr old mother managed the steps! 🙂

Christina & Sebastian

Aug 28th  – Sept 1st 2022

Thank you for everything.

The Sea View Cottage is lovely and we enjoyed our stay, especially the terrrace. We had the perfect weather for our stay and could explore the Isle of Portland and the Jurassic Coast. We hope to return one day for another beautiful trip – this time with my sister and her husband  🙂

The Lynness Family

August 20th  – 28th 2022

We have had a fabulous week at Seaview Cottage. Graham very helpful & great ‘app’ explaining everyting and very helpful. We loved the clean, comfy cottage that had everything we needed. We loved expoloring beautiful Portland and all the surrounding Dorset beaches, lots of swimming! Thankyou for a lovely stay 🙂

Oscar, Bernardien, & Samuel

July 30th  – Aug 6th 2022

Lovely cottage, excellent equipped, perfect location in such an amzing area. My husband and son were sailing races and I explored the area. So beautiful! We enjoyed our stay tremendously. Thanks!

Lynsey, Chris, Freya, Erin + Otis the dog

July 1st  – 11th 2022

What a wonderful second visit to the cottage! Absolutely love it here, the perfect spot to recharge. The cottage (with the new sun deck) was ideal, the views, nights at the beach to watch the sun set. Can’t wait to come back. xxxx

Dawn & Jenny

June 28th  – July 1st 2022

Enjoyed the cottage and the views. Clean and comfortable is always a good combination. Recommend the buses (ask the driver, don’t buy the roamer ticket unless absolutely necessary). Good time had. Thanks.

Sara + Emma + Debbie the dog

June 18th  – 24th 2022

Best Summer Holiday Evah! We loved Portland & we loved Sea view Cottage. We’ll be back 🙂 x

These guests also reviewed us on Google…

Karen (Bristol) and Kate (Alcester)

June 6th  – 13th 2022

Portland has not disappointed! Loved the quirky feel to the Isle. Weather superb, using public transport really enhanced seeing this lovely Island. So lucky we were able to make full use of the sun deck.

Chris & Alan

May 19th  – May 22nd 2022

We have really enjoyed our stay at Sea View Cottage. Although most of our time has been spent fishing!

Had [a] great few days and loved the peaceful location.

Will come again!

Thank you.

Heidi, Martin & Ash

May 15th  – May 18th 2022

Lovely cottage, amazing views. Ash loved her first trip to the beach. Portland is so quiet and peaceful. Loved it.

Lovely cottage, amazing views. Ash loved her first trip to the bech. Portland is so quiet and peaceful. Loved it.

Paul & Gill

April 29th  – May 3rd 2022

Lovely stay! We have enjoyed Portland walks and the Cove House Inn.

Lovely stay! We have enjoyed Portland walks and the Cove House Inn.

Elaine, Andy, Ryan, Nanny Hazel + Daisy the dog

April 18th  – 22nd 2022

Such a gorgeous cottage, amazing view of the sea! breakfast on the decking every morning, dog loved it her first holiday to the sea. don’t want to leave!! x

gorgeous cottage, amazing view of the sea, breakfast on the decking every morning, dog loved it

Lester, Karen, & Mabel (the dog)

April 14th  – 18th 2022

A lovely stay in a beautiful cottage. Everything you need is here and it was like a home from home. Dog friendly. Great location and peaceful, just what we wanted and needed. Portland is a great location as well. Thank you.

lovely stay in a beautiful cottage, a home from home, dog friendly, great location and peaceful

Anonymous

April 11th  – 14th 2022

Had a great stay – good set up and location. There’s more to do on Portland than you think. Even managed to get in the sea on one day although a bit chilly. Thank you.

great stay, good set up and location, there's more to do on Portland than you think

Kate, Stephen & Zac Mitchell, Bordon, Hants

April 9th  – 11th 2022

Had a lovely stay in the cottage, fantastic views of the sea and the weather has been kind to us! Love how close we were to the pub too! We used the decking for some chilling and wine drinking. Thank you!

lovely stay in the cottage, fantastic views of the sea, love how close we were to the pub, used the decking for some chilling and wine drinking

Steve + Clare, Slough

March 17th  – 21st 2022

We’ve had a lovely chilled time in this well equipped cottage – lovely views + the weather was good enough for us to enjoy the new decking. Thanks.

loveley chilled time in well equipped cottage, lovely views, enjoyed the new decking

Sue & Chris Mills, + Beer & Willow (dogs)

March 12th  – 15th 2022

We’ve had the most lovely chilled few days to re-charge our batteries! Lovely walks and meals out. The bonus – it was my birthday!  🙂

Thankyou x.

had the most lovely chilled few days, lovely walks and meals out

Elizabeth Parkin, Bournemouth

March 7th  – 9th 2022

[via Google Forms]

Lovely cottage with everything needed for a comfortable couple of nights. Great location and local amenities. Very clean and well equipped.
Hope to visit again soon.
Only 1 minor thing is that the kettle needs descaling (or a water filter to fill it i.e. a Britta). Other than that- marvellous  🙂

(Host’s comment: will replace kettle ASAP)

lovely cottage with everything needed, great location and local amenities, very clean and well equipped5 stars awarded

No Reviews for a While – Sea View Cottage is Temporarily Closed

January 6th  – March  3rd 2022

We’ve temporarily closed Sea View Cottage whilst we install a new child and dog secure sun deck and viewing platform at the rear of the cottage. This will measure approximately 5m x 3m, be home to new garden furniture and a new BBQ – and make a Great Stay an Even Better Stay!

Chris & Lisa Gleave, Denton, Northants

January 1st – 3rd, 2022

A wonderful spot for a bit of post Christmas and New Year R + R.  The cottage is spotlessly clean and well equipped. The weather was exhilarating – watching the waves crashing at Portland Bill and doging the rain on the 3 Lighthouses Walk. Thank you for a lovely stay. x

a wonderful spot, the cottage is spotlessly clean and well equipped, lovely stay

Amy, Logan (the dog), Kirsten, Zachary(6) + Harrisn (4)

December 30th 2021 – January Ist 2022

We all had a lovely new years break at Sea View Cottage. I (Amy) absolutely loved the view. The location was great for us to explore the rest of the island. The children and Logan both loved exploring at Portland Bill lighthouse and Rufus Castle. The Cottage had evrything we needed. Thank you so much.lovely new year's break, absolutely loved the view, the location was great, the cottage had everything we needed